On moving to that bigger city

Life starts at the end of your comfort zone -Neale Donald Walsh

MOVING to the metropolis of the Philippines is something I never dreamed of. (I’m sorry) I was in the comfort of the Queen City of the south and the city I consider as my home, CEBU.

Don’t get me wrong, this is not my first time in Manila, I’ve been in and out of the metro due to my previous job. I love it here. I gained new friends and new connections but we all crave for HOME, right?

I’m 23. Still a tad of idealistic and is in the stage of discovering her calling and whatsoever. I was in the middle of a little depression when the newly appointed Executive Director of a government agency in Manila introduced me to the idea of moving to Manila and work for the government. I love the company I was in, culture-wise but I just couldn’t put my heart into it.

After much thought, I knew I had to grow up and learn things, like doing the laundry, cooking my own meals and doing my own budget. Adulting shizz as they call it and here I am, celebrating 60 days in Manila.

I’m having a hard time balancing everything as of the moment but I’m loving the experience, the new friends and the new connections. I love what I’m doing now.

and Manila? although the traffic is giving me pain the ass, but I’m getting good at just getting along with it. The language? well, tagalog(Filipino) might be the national language but it’s not spoken that much in Cebu as we either speak mostly in English and Bisaya so I’m still the hang of it. The commute? hehehe. *Send help* slowly detaching with taxi, uber and grab… This is a fun experience and definitely out of my comfort zone. Cebu will be my home, but Manila plays a big role on my career and personality development now. 🙂

FEEL FREE TO COMMENT BELOW IF THERE ARE ANY “SURVIVAL” TIPS ON ADULTING AND MANILA YOU CAN GIVE ME! I’D DEFINITELY LOVE TO HEAR ALL OF THEM 🙂

xoxo

-S ❤

Leave a Reply

